Preparing

April 4, 2017 § Leave a comment

I’ve been in Florida for a few days. I’m staying at my dad’s house until the 10th of April. Then I’ll be taking a train from Orlando to Miami. After a night in Miami my flight will leave for Brazil on the 11th.

The past month or so has been insane. Until this week I haven’t had enough time to stop and think, let alone write. I spend a couple weeks in March roadtripping and hiking throughout the Northeast of the US. That was incredible, and I met some really great people along the way. But now I’ve basically been everywhere in the contiguous United States.

Been there, done that. After spending a few weeks in Europe last summer I’m more than ready to do more international traveling. Soon enough I will be in Brazil. And after spending a few months in the Northeast of Brazil we will start the long journey south. We want to spend time in Uruguay before heading to Patagonia (Argentina, Chile) and eventually Peru, Ecuador, and perhaps Colombia. Who knows what order we will do it in. It depends on a lot of things. But we agreed not to plan too much. We’re going to buy bus tickets as we go. We will be totally free. The only time restraints will be to be back in Brazil in February for Carnaval and to make sure we’re in the coldest regions of Patagonia around November-January, their summer season.

Moving to Brazil is intimidating. There’s no question. How good is my Portuguese? How long until I can understand native speakers clearly, without concentrating? And what about my safety? I’m clearly gringo. And I was told that I’ll be robbed in Recife because of how I look.

And then when we travel in South America. Buses across remote regions of the Argentinian countryside. And my inability to speak Spanish. Do I have everything I need for cold weather hiking in the Andes?

I’ll be honest, I know I’m not fully prepared. And that’s what makes it exciting for me. I like not knowing. And I’ve learned to enjoy putting myself in uncomfortable positions. I know my Portuguese still needs work. But I’m ready to practice. I know I’m a target to be robbed, and I’m ready for the moment. Or maybe I’m not. Who cares. Because in the end I’m going to be in some of the most beautiful places on the planet. Incredible beaches, beautiful women, and unforgettable moments are in my near future. If I get robbed a couple times or experience awkward moments because of my Portuguese, so be it!

My hope is that the next year will teach me about myself. And about what I want. At the very least, it’s going to be different. And that’s all that I want.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Preparing at The Liberty Minded Individual.

meta

