Colorado

December 29, 2014 § Leave a comment

A sea of green beauty flowing in the distance, the open Colorado landscape tells a story that only the depths of my soul can hear. My deepest and most precious thoughts and feelings can be found on the shaking pedals of the blue columbine flowers as a mountain breeze graces the expansive meadows that fill the massive valleys between mountain peaks.

Human beings find all forms of natural landscapes beautiful and interesting. There is some sort of inexplicable cosmic pull that occurs whenever we gaze off into the face of nature’s most amazing spectacles. But for me, there’s something deep within my spirit which constantly longs for the beauty of the American mountain west. It’s more than a simple ascetic attraction. There’s something about the incredible contrast between the deep green fields and the almost unbelievably large, snow covered mountain peaks that make me feel at home. The fresh smell of land uncorrupted by human civilization for miles. The open, clear blue skies untainted by pollution. My fascination with Colorado reminds me a lot of Melville’s somewhat comical description of a sailor being away from sea in Moby Dick:

“Whenever I find myself growing grim about the mouth; whenever it is a damp, drizzly November in my soul; whenever I find myself involuntarily pausing before coffin warehouses, and bringing up the rear of every funeral I meet; and especially whenever my hypos get such an upper hand of me, that it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from deliberately stepping into the street, and methodically knocking people’s hats off- then, I account it high time to get to sea as soon as I can. This is my substitute for pistol and ball. With a philosophical flourish Cato throws himself upon his sword; I quietly take to the ship. There is nothing surprising in this. If they but knew it, almost all men in their degree, some time or other, cherish very nearly the same feelings towards the ocean with me.”

His ocean is my mountainside. After a good deal of time away from the mountains I feel “off”. As if there’s a part of me that is missing. Almost like a long lost lover or something.

Katie and I have decided to take a road trip from North Carolina to Seattle during the first two full weeks of July. We’re renting a car and headed west to Colorado. Then north, up to Glacier National Park. Then west out to Seattle to stay with my uncle. And of course we’re making tons of stops in between.

I try not to show it to Katie but I’m so excited I might piss myself. I can’t wait. The only thing better than re-experiencing the beauty of the mountains (and a lot of new places as well) Is experiencing it with Katie. She makes me genuinely happy and I can’t think of anything better than combining the two things on earth that make me happy.

Until next time,

Peace

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Colorado at The Liberty Minded Individual.

meta

