On Travel and Looking Forward

December 15, 2014 § Leave a comment

The past few months have felt like a real drag at times. Between switching jobs, renovating an entire house, and building a new relationship, I’ve been feeling really tired and worn down.  That isn’t to say that I’m not ungrateful. I have a great career, a house I never dreamed I’d have before 35, and a partner who is down to earth and loving.

Some days are easier than others. But lately I’ve had trouble sleeping at night which worries me. I was up until 3 AM last night. It’s almost never a particular incident that keeps me awake. It’s like as soon as I lay down and turn out the light my mind starts to amplify all of the fears that I can drown out during the day. It’s getting tiring.

At any rate, I’ve been making it a point to look forward and do my best to let go of the past. As a part of that general effort I’ve started planning summer 2015’s road trip. I’m thinking about taking off two weeks in July so I can spend my birthday somewhere interesting. One of the best parts about not going to Ohio for the holidays is that I can save all of my vacation time for interesting trips like this. I’m not sure how my new company will handle it, but I’m assuming (hoping) that a couple weeks in the summer will be okay.

So this year I wanted to hit up a lot of places I’ve never been before. My route will be one way from North Carolina to Seattle(I’m renting a car). Of course I’ll be stopping in Colorado. Katie’s never been and it’s quite possibly my favorite place on this planet. After Colorado we’re going to head north and hit up places neither of us have ever been to. Gran Teton National Park, Yellowstone, and Glacier National Park are three of the spots we must visit. My uncle has a condo near downtown Seattle so I’m hoping he’ll let us stay there for a few days. Then we can just catch a flight back to RDU from Seattle. That’s the tentative plan, at least.

I really need this road trip. I’m getting very antsy and I feel like I’m starting to grow bitter toward North Carolina. Which isn’t fair. North Carolina is a beautiful state with a lot to do. I now work for a great company with plenty of opportunities for career growth. Taking this job was basically my way of committing myself to North Carolina for at least the next couple years. And I’m totally okay with that. I need to learn to love the skies I’m under and quit day dreaming about some mecca that doesn’t exist. And after a little while gaining what I can from my current position there’s always the possibility of moving to another one of my company’s locations. I’m not stuck in North Carolina forever. I might as well enjoy it while I can and make the most of it while I’m here.

Besides, North Carolina isn’t entirely terrible. For instance, it’s December 15th and I’m typing this blog on my back porch as the sun sets through the lolbolly pine trees.

Here’s to hoping I return next time with a better state of mind.

-Eric

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On Travel and Looking Forward at The Liberty Minded Individual.

meta

