War with Pakistan?

September 23, 2011 § Leave a comment

In my free time I update a Microsoft world file were I “jot” down some of my thoughts on recent world news(economic, political, or otherwise). It’s sort of a way for me to vent, while at the same time it gives me the chance to catalog my thoughts and predictions– that way I can look back and see how right I was. 😉 (just kidding…sort of.)

I’ve been keeping up this “diary” of sorts for about the past year or so. Admittedly, I have sort of forgotten about it since mid July. That is, until I  read the news this morning and was reminded of some old posts I had made.

According to Admiral Micheal Mullen, Pakistan “backed” the attacks on the U.S embassy in Kabul. To anyone who knows the first damned this about the relationship between the Pakistani ISI and the U.S CIA, this comes as no surprise. What is frightening, however, is the idea that the United States might use this public accusation as a means to begin a new war in another Middle Eastern state. Obviously, the Department of Defense and it’s rubber stamp in the executive branch will start a war wherever and whenever it likes, but accusations such as these– as true as they may be– are nothing more than a way to drum up public support for another war(something that may prove more challenging than “they” would like).

According to Reuters,

Admiral Mike Mullen said Pakistan’s Inter-Services Intelligence agency (ISI) played a role in the September 13 attack on the U.S. Embassy in Kabul, supporting militants known as the Haqqani network.

That network, he said, is a “veritable arm” of the ISI.

The embassy attack was the latest in a series of violent episodes that were a blow to U.S. efforts to bring the Afghan war to a peaceful close.

I especially love the last part.

Here’s my little blurb, back on Monday, May 2nd, 2011:

Well, I thought I would update. Turns out, the United States just killed Osama Bin Laden. The media has been all over it. From corny college kids waving American flags in front of the white house to a mind numbing amount of articles recounting Semptember 11th. You name it, they’ve run it.

The next step? War in Pakistan(were Bin Laden was found). I’m not sure, but when I read the Cleveland Plain Dealer and I see articles titled:

“Iraq War veteran bracing for retaliation in wake of bin Laden death”

Then I know something is up. If you search “Pakistan Retaliation” on google news, there are approximately 2700 results within the past 24 hours. CBS News, The Gaurdian, Sydney Morning Herald, ABC News, Reuters, etc. Every major news papers is warning of a retaliation.

When I said “retaliation”, I’m not sure if I meant from the United States(as a means to “get back” at Pakistan for allegedly harboring Bin Laden) or from Pakistan(due to the U.S’ “secret” mission to allegedly kill Bin Laden). Either way, the media was bracing us for some sort of violence, which will probably happen soon enough(likely after the presidential election…that is, assuming Ron Paul isn’t elected 🙂 ).

Regardless of whether or not war actually occurs, this situation arouses more questions than it answers; why are we sending billions of dollars of aid to Pakistan every year if some of our highest ranking military members are convinced that it’s clandestine agency is working against the U.S? Why are we wasting time fighting a war in the desert where there never was a significant terrorist threat(that is, until our intervention created one)? Finally, why is it that a 21 year old engineering student who reads Google news in his free time can see through this bullshit, but the majority of the American people can not?

Questions that might never be answered, unfortunately.

Oh well. Tomorrow is Friday. I might go downtown after work if the weather isn’t shitty(which is unlikely). If anyone located in a warm climate is looking for an intelligent, young  engineer, please feel free to contact me. 🙂

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading War with Pakistan? at The Liberty Minded Individual.

meta

