My poltical history: Part II

September 14, 2011 § 1 Comment

Here’s the second installment of my political “history”. The short version, of course. 🙂 You can check out the original post here.

My last couple years of high school, I ended up focusing on school, the college search, and all of the other things they tell you to do when you’re seventeen years old.  Ron Paul was put on the back burner for a couple years.

Then, sometime last fall, a Ron Paul fan page that I had “liked” on Facebook a while back posted a video from the 2007 Republican presidential debates. Just out of pure coincidence, it happened to be a compilation of all the other Republican nominees laughing and smirking while Ron was trying to make sensible comments about America’s foreign policy. I’m not sure why, but this seriously irritated me. I began questioning the status quo in this country. If a guy like Ron Paul is basically laughed off the stage for making common sense observations about the US government’s foreign policy, just how ass backwards is the rest of our political system?

In search of the truth, I found the answers to the above questions. Until Ron Paul and other real conservatives(or at least those individuals who resemble conservativism more than the phonies at Fox News) enlightened me, I never knew that it was conservative to be anti-war. I never knew that 9/11 was a direct result of our foreign policy. Things like this are never talked about on Fox News. Things like this are never talked about anywhere in the mainstream media.

I had been duped. The good news was, I now knew the truth. I quickly began to educate myself on Ron Paul’s other positions–I bought a few of his books. I read books that he added to the “Suggested reading list” in the back of his books. I loved all of it. This new perspective that people like Ron Paul, Tom Woods, Jack Hunter, and others provided, has changed the way I look at the world.

I also took Ron Paul’s advice in his book End The Fed and visited the Mises community online. Reading the Mises forums eventually became a daily routine of mine. I would look forward to coming back from class and browsing the forums. It was the Mises forums that eventually helped bring me a step further toward the obvious logical conclusions that one must make in order to fully embrace the principles of liberty.

At this point, I’m still struggling intellectually with voluntaryism. At the very least, I embrace minarchy. But I can’t seem to loose my grip on what Rothbard referred to as a “religious” need for a central body of coercion.

I have a strong feeling that there are hundreds(if not, thousands) of young people facing the same quandary; that is, the ability to see where logic will lead, but the inability to embrace what seems like common sense.

I hope to update this blog soon(maybe tonight). After watching the “Tea Party Republican” debate, I’m eager to answer a few questions that seem to keep arising in my mind.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to My poltical history: Part II

  • Hey there, just looking about some information sites, seems a reasonably nice system you are using. I’m currently applying WordPress for a couple of my own sites yet looking to adjust one of them onto a platform similar to your own as a trial run run. Whatever in particular you’d recommend regarding it?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My poltical history: Part II at The Liberty Minded Individual.

meta

